University of New England - Innovation for a Healthier Planet

Presidents of Westbrook College collection, 1834-1996

Full finding aid (pdf)

Collection Scope and Content

The Presidents of Westbrook College collection was created by Dorothy Healy and various library staff. The collection includes items collected from publications, websites, newspapers, as well as memos, correspondence, ephemera, studies, reports, and academic publications. The collection spans the entire history of Westbrook College, 1834-1996.

Biographical/Historical Note

Headmasters and Presidents of Westbrook 1834-1836 Reverend Samuel Brimblecom 1836-1839 James Furbush 1839-1842 John K. True 1842-1844 Moses B. Walker & George W. True 1844-1846 E.P. Hines 1846-1848 G. W. Bradford 1849-1851 Reverend L. L. Record 1851-1853 Nathaniel Hatch 1853-1859 Reverend James P. Weston 1859-1860 Silas B. Rawson 1860-1861 B. G. Ames 1862- Charles S. Fobes 1862 -1869 Reverend S. H. McCollister 1870-1872 Reverend J. C. Snow 1872-1874 William A. Poste 1874-1878 G. M. Bodge 1878-1889 Reverend James P. Weston 1889-1892 Albert S. Allen 1892-1899 Reverend H. S. Whitman 1899-1905 Oscar H. Perry 1905-1907 Dr. William C. Joslin 1907-1911 Arthur C. Yeaton 1912-1913 Reverend Harvey H. Hoyt 1913-1914 Charles William Harris 1914-1920 Clarence P. Quimby 1920-1925 Dr. Orlando K. Hollister 1925-1932 Agnes M. Safford 1932-1933 Marion Coats Graves 1933-1958 Dr. Milton D. Proctor 1958-1970 Edward Y. Blewett 1970-1977 James Dickinson 1977-1986 Thomas B. Courtice 1987-1987 James I. Armstrong 1987-1996 Dr. William D. Andrews