University of New England - Innovation for a Healthier Planet

Registrar’s records, 1850-1984

Full finding aid (pdf)

Biographical/Historical Note

Although Westbrook College has always been located in the same geographic place, the neighborhood where it is located has been part of three different municipalities over the years: Westbrook (1831-1870), Deering (1871-1898), and Portland (1899- ). The college itself has had five name changes – Westbrook Seminary, Westbrook Junior College, Westbrook College, the Westbrook College Campus of the University of New England, and the Portland Campus of the University of New England.