Databases
Not sure which database to use? Find research by subject. Some databases offer mobile apps: learn more about mobile access.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, marketing, advertising, ethics and more.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
In-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, and trends to study and compare major industries.
Academic OneFile
Access leading journals across all major academic disciplines.
Academic Search Ultimate
Articles and citations from peer-reviewed journals across many disciplines. Advanced search video tutorial. Partially State of Maine Funded.
Academic Video Online
Multidisciplinary streaming video titles including documentary, feature films, video demonstrations and more.
AccessAnesthesiology
Anesthesiology textbooks, procedures videos, practice guidelines, review questions, and a drug database to help prepare for cases and board certification. 10 minute tour video.
AccessMedicine
Key medical textbooks and other resources, including the Lange Educational Library. Mobile app instructions.
AccessNeurology
Textbooks, case files, multimedia, drugs, review questions and more. Covers the entire spectrum of neurology.
AccessPharmacy
Textbooks, including DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy, drug-therapy cases and care plans, NAPLEX test prep questions, and more.
AccessPhysiotherapy
Textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, images, self assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool to support the practice, study and instruction of physical therapy.
AccessScience
Online version of The Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Environmental sciences journals, conferences, reports, and other sources.
Alt HealthWatch
Perspectives on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Alt-PressWatch
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses to provide alternatives to mainstream media perspectives.
AMED – The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database
Alternative medicine database from The British Library.
America: History and Life
Articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Research and development across the applied sciences and computing disciplines. State of Maine funded.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
International literature of aquatic and marine sciences. State of Maine funded.
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Interactive clinical skills videos on physical examination techniques.
Biography Reference Source
Search biographies by occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more. State of Maine funded.
Biography: Gale In Context
Biographical information on the world’s most influential people throughout history.
Biological Science Collection
Biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology sources.
BioOne Digital Library
E-books and journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Birds of the World
Comprehensive life history information on bird species from CornellLab of Ornithology.
Business Book Summaries
Summaries of business books on topics across managment, communications, entrepreneurship, leadership, marketing, technology and more.
Business Market Research Collection
Company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research. Includes Hoover’s Company Profiles.
Business Source Ultimate
Essential business journals plus videos from top providers. Partially State of Maine Funded.
Cabell’s Journalytics Predatory Reports
Find deceptive and predatory academic journals to keep protected from exploitative publishers.
Case Files Collection
Realistic patient cases to help apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts. From AccessMedicine.
CINAHL Complete
The comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals, including physical and occupational therapy, physician assistant, public health, and more.
Clinical Pharmacology
Drug information for clinicians in hospitals, pharmacies, and other settings; from ClinicalKey. Mobile app instructions.
ClinicalKey
Current clinical information for fast, concise answers at point-of-care. Mobile app instructions.
cloudLibrary
Popular ebooks and audiobooks for a variety of devices. Use your UNE PRN number as your library card to log in. State of Maine funded.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Reports of randomized controlled trials to help you find the best available evidence.
Cochrane Clinical Answers
Physician-focused resource for clinical questions.
Cochrane Collection Plus
Search across the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Leading database of systematic reviews and protocols in health care.
Communications and Mass Media: Gale OneFile
Information on advertising, public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, journalism and more.
Computer Science: Gale OneFile
Information on hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
ConsumerLab.com
Independent tests and reviews of health and nutrition products including vitamins, herbal products, functional foods, and more.
Contemporary Women’s Issues
Comprehensive coverage of issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric practice videos.
Credo Reference
Authoritative, citable information from subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, handbooks, videos and images.
Culinary Arts: Gale OneFile
Major cooking and nutrition books and magazines.
CultureGrams World Edition
Concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Dental Education in Video
Dentistry and dental technique videos, interviews, and lectures from clinicians and educators.
Dentistry & Oral Science Source
Major journals covering dental medicine, endodontics, odontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology and more.
Digital Maine Library
Free online access for Maine residents to scholarly databases, newspapers, magazines, journals, and reference books. Funded by the Maine State Library.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Dissertations and theses across all academic disciplines from universities around the world.
Diversity Studies: Gale OneFile
Explore cultural differences and the contributions and influences of diverse populations in the global community.
DUNE: DigitalUNE
Access UNE student and faculty published works, including theses & dissertations, articles, journals, posters, presentations and more.
DynaMed
Evidence-based decision tool for point-of-care use. Mobile app instructions.
DynaMedex
Combines the content of DynaMed with the advanced search capabilities of Micromedex.
EconLit
Information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations and more. State of Maine funded.
Education Database
Journals, dissertations and supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
Educator’s Reference Complete
Information for all levels of education, including technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, as well as issues in administration, funding, and policy.
Embase
Up-to-date biomedical and pharmacological information on medical and drug-related subjects. Video tutorials.
Embodied Labs
Immersive virtual reality labs giving users first-person experience of aging individuals with unique diagnoses and perspectives. Login requires a UNE email account.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
The latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. State of Maine funded.
Entrepreneurship: Gale Business
Articles and other resources on economic development, business planning, finance, marketing, market research, and management.
Environment Complete
Information on agriculture, ecology, energy, natural resources, and other environmental topics. State of Maine funded.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
EBSCO access to education research and information from the U.S. Department of Education. State of Maine funded.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. State of Maine funded.
Evidence Analysis Library (EAL)
Systematic reviews of nutritional research from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
Exam Master
Practice exams for the USMLE, PANCE, NAPLEX, NCLEX, board certification exams, and review medical subjects. Requires an individual account using your UNE email address.
Fine Arts: Gale OneFile
Information on drama, music, art history, and filmmaking, including The Wilson Art Index.
FSTA – Food Science & Technology Abstracts
Information on food sciences, psychology, economics, safety and more. State of Maine funded.
Gale Books and Authors
Find books to match your interests. Covers all genres and reading levels.
Global Issues: Gale In Context
Global perspectives on international relations and current world events.
Google Scholar
Google search of scholarly literature. Can be set up to recognize your UNE subscription access. Learn more about using Google Scholar.
GreenFILE
Information on environmental concerns such as climate change, energy conservation, natural resources, and pollution.
Health & Medical Collection
Healthcare journals and clinical research titles, instructional videos, dissertations and working papers.
Health and Medicine: Gale OneFile
Nursing and allied health journals, reference content, pamphlets and videos.
Healthcare Administration Database
Information on public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
HeinOnline
U.S. government publications and reports back to 1754 as well as treaties, constitutions, case law, classic treatises, international trade, and foreign relations.
Historic Journals & Osteopathic Books
Osteopathic journals and books curated by the Museum of Osteopathic Medicine at A.T. Still University,
Historical Newspapers: ProQuest
Archive of The New York Times: 1851-2007, The Washington Post: 1877-1994, Guardian and Observer: 1791-2003, Hartford Courant: 1764-1985, and New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993.
Humanities Source
Scholarly journal articles covering literary, scholarly and creative thought.
ICE Learning Center
Physical and occupational therapy videos of real patients and therapists in clinical settings. Starting guide video. Enter your UNE email address to log in.
Journal Citation Reports
Evaluate journals with quantifiable, statistical metrics based on citation data.
JSTOR
Scholarly journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, & sciences.
Kanopy
Stream current, classic, and independant films, documentaries, and training videos.
LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
Information on drugs and chemicals affecting nursing mothers and infants.
Leadership and Management: Gale OneFile
Professional and career development resources on organizational dynamics, leadership, and continuing education.
LearningExpress Library
Practice tests and materials to prepare for college admissions, adult learning, professional certifications, and more. State of Maine funded.
Legal Information Source
Legal reference books, publications and forms. State of Maine funded.
LegalTrac
Law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, bar association, and international law journals.
Lexidrug
Point-of-care drug information used in many hospitals; integrates with UpToDate. Training videos.
Lexidrug for Dentistry
Current and accurate point-of-care information across clinical knowledge areas in dentistry. Integrates with UpToDate.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA)
Library and information science journals, books, research reports and more. State of Maine funded.
Literary Reference Plus
Literary works, criticism, teaching tools and research aids. State of Maine funded.
Literature Resource Center: Gale
Literature research resources on authors and criticism.
LWW Health Library Medical Education
Lippencott medical and health sciences textbooks and multimedia resources. Includes the Osteopathic Medicine Collection.
Maine News
Maine newspapers including The Bangor Daily News and The Portland Press Herald.
Maine News Index
Abstracts and citations from Portland and Maine newspapers and magazines compiled by the Portland Public Library.
Mango Languages
Online language learning platform for Spanish and French.
MEDLINE
Authoritative medical information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. State of Maine funded.
Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary
Health-care terms, abbreviations, medication names, and biographies of medical pioneers
Merriam-Webster’s Online
Comprehensive dictionary and thesaurus, language translation tools, and more. State of Maine funded.
Micromedex
Evidence-based information on medications, diseases, and toxicology for clinical decision making. Mobile app instructions.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Detailed information on journals including editorial policies and contact information, peer-review process, and submission guidelines.
MLA International Bibliography
Literature, language, linguistics, and folklore records from the Modern Language Association.
NAL SEARCH
National Agricultural Library database of agriculture, forestry, and animal science research, formerly AGRICOLA.
NatMed Pro
Evidence-based resource on natural medicines, dietary supplements, and complementary and integrative therapies.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis®. Nexis Uni tutorials.
North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
American and Canadian women’s published and unpublished diaries and correspondence from Colonial times through 1950.
NoveList K-8 Plus
Fiction and non-fiction book recommendations for K – 8 readers, as well as reading lists and curriculum-driven material for educators. State of Maine funded.
NoveList Plus
Fiction and non-fiction book recommendations for high school through adult readers. State of Maine funded.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Evidence-based resources including articles, clinical training videos, reference materials and more.
Nutrition Care Manual
Customizable nutrition educational materials and evidence-based nutrition recommendations for dietitian nutritionists.
Oceanic Abstracts
Marine biology, oceanography, fisheries, and aquaculture resources. State of Maine funded.
OpenDissertations
Dissertations and theses from American universities 1902 to present. State of Maine funded.
Opposing Viewpoints: Gale In Context
Multiple perspectives on current events and social issues.
OSTMED.DR
Osteopathic medical digital repository with current literature and historical documents.
OTseeker
Abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.
PDR (Prescribers’ Digital Reference)
Drug information including interactions, side effects, recommended dosages, contraindications, and more.
PEDRO (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines for physiotherapy interventions.
PharmacyLibrary
Textbooks, interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, abstracts and news sources from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine: Gale OneFile
Research from academic journals and magazines in physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
Poetry and Short Story Reference Source
Classic and contemporary poems, short stories, biographies and more, including videos and audio recordings from the Academy of American Poets. State of Maine funded.
Points of View Reference Source
Essays that present multiple sides of current issues, with guides to critical analysis. State of Maine funded.
Project Muse
Humanities and social sciences books and articles from university presses and scholarly societies.
ProQuest Central
Scholarly and trade articles, news sources, magazines and more covering all major academic subject areas.
PsycArticles
Research articles in the behavioral and social sciences from the American Psychological Association (APA).
PsychiatryOnline
Books, journals, guidelines and more from American Psychiatric Publishing.
Psychotherapy.net Video Library
Training videos featuring leading practitioners in psychotherapy.
PsycInfo
Journals, books, dissertations, and reports in behavioral and social sciences from the American Psychological Association (APA).
PsycTests
Psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to research in the behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association.
PubChem
National Library of Medicine database of chemical information.
Public Health Database
Public health literature including biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health services administration and more.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
PubMed search of MEDLINE, the U.S. National Library of Medicine database of biomedical literature. Tutorials.
PubMed Central (PMC)
Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). PMC FAQs.
Regional Business News
Local business news by state and Canadian province. State of Maine funded.
Religion and Philosophy: Gale OneFile
Journals and magazines covering religion, theology & philosophy.
Science: Gale In Context
Topic overviews, articles, experiments, and simulations in all areas of science.
ScienceDirect
Scientific, technical, and medical research from scholarly journal publisher Elsevier.
SciFinderⁿ
References, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. First time users, please create a free account here. SciFinder Training.
SciVal
Research performance data and visualization tools from academic institutions worldwide.
Scopus
Citations and abstracts from scholarly research journals across the sciences. Advanced tools for citation analysis and journal ranking. Video tutorials.
Small Business Source
Articles and reports, sample business plans, tax forms, videos, and reference books for small business owners. State of Maine funded.
Social Work Abstracts
Journals covering all areas of social work, from the National Association of Social Workers, Inc.
SocINDEX
Research journals and other publications in sociology and related disciplines.
SPORTDiscus
Articles from sports and sports medicine journals, including exercise physiology, coaching, and training and conditioning.
Statista
Global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights.
Stedman’s Online
The most complete resource of medical terms, definitions, abbreviations and symbols.
Symptom Media
Videos on mental health issues and diagnoses with assessment tools guided by the DSM 5 and ICD 10 .
TOXLINE
Citations and abstracts from toxicology journals, papers, books, reports and more.
Trip Medical Database
Clinical search engine of high-quality research evidence.
U.S. History: Gale In Context
Primary and secondary sources on the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. History.
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Detailed information on journals and magazines published throughout the world.
UpToDate
Evidence-based, synthesized medical information for point-of-care decision-making. UpToDate training videos. Mobile app instructions. Requires a free, personal account. Log in through this link every 90 days to retain your UNE access.
Visible Body Suite
Detailed, Interactive 3D atlas of the human body. Requires a free account. Be patient – can take up to 30 seconds to load the first time you access. Users must login at least every 150 days from the above link to retain access. Tutorial. Mobile app instructions.
Web of Science
Zoological literature from professional journals, magazines, newsletters, books and more.
WorldCat
Search the collections of the world’s libraries. Limit by location to find items near you.