Databases
Not sure which database to use? Find research by subject. Some databases offer mobile apps: learn more about mobile access.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, marketing, advertising, ethics and more.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Corporate and industry news from trade journals, reports, magazines, conference proceedings and more. In-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, and trends to study and compare major industries.
Academic OneFile
Search leading journals in the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. State of Maine funded.
Academic Search Ultimate
Scholarly database with articles and citations from peer-reviewed journals across many disciplines. Advanced search video tutorial.
Academic Video Online
Multidisciplinary streaming video titles including documentary, feature films, video demonstrations and more.
AccessAnesthesiology
Anesthesiology textbooks, procedures videos, practice guidelines, interactive Board Review, and a drug database to help prepare for cases and board certification. 10 minute tour video.
AccessMedicine
Medical resources including Harrison’s Online, Hurst’s the Heart, Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacology and the Lange Educational Library. Mobile app instructions.
AccessNeurology
Textbooks, case files, multimedia, drugs, review questions and more. Covers the entire spectrum of neurology.
AccessPharmacy
Textbooks, including DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy, drug-therapy cases and care plans, NAPLEX test prep questions, and more.
AccessPhysiotherapy
Textbooks, procedure and exercise videos, images, self assessment tools, and a unique cadaver dissection tool to support the practice, study and instruction of physical therapy.
AccessScience
Online version of the Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Environmental sciences journals, conferences, reports, and other sources.
Alt HealthWatch
Perspectives on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Alt-PressWatch
Provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives with articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
AMED – The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database
Alternative medicine database covering mainly European journals.
America: History and Life
Articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Applied Science & Technology Source
Offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
International literature of aquatic and marine sciences. State of Maine funded.
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Clinical skills videos on head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. OSCE skills videos are not included in our subscription.
Biography Reference Source
Biographies of a wide range of subjects. Search by occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
Biography: Gale In Context
Biographical information on the world’s most influential people throughout history.
Biological Sciences Collection
Biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology sources.
BioOne Complete
Biological, ecological and environmental sciences journals from scholarly societies and non-commercial publishers.
Birds of the World
Species accounts written by ornithologists and other experts on bird species of the world. Includes sounds, images, video, distributional maps, and model output generated by eBird.
Business Book Summaries
Summaries of business books on topics across managment, communications, entrepreneurship, leadership, marketing, technology and more.
Business Market Research Collection
Corporate data, industry analyses, summary financials, and editorial content on public and non-public companies and their key executives. Includes Hoover’s Company Profiles.
Business Source Ultimate
Provides researchers with essential business journals such as Harvard Business Review, Forbes, and MIS Quarterly, plus business videos from top providers.
Cabell’s Predatory Reports
The only list of deceptive and predatory academic journals. Specialists analyze over 60 behavioral indicators to keep researchers and scholars protected from exploitative publishers.
Case Files Collection
Realistic patient cases to help apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts. From AccessMedicine.
CINAHL Complete
The comprehensive source for nursing and allied health journals, including physical and occupational therapy, physician assistant, public health, and more. Video tutorial.
Clinical Pharmacology
Drug information for clinicians in hospitals, pharmacies, and other settings; from ClinicalKey. Mobile app instructions.
ClinicalKey
Current clinical information for fast, concise answers at point-of-care. Mobile app instructions.
cloudLibrary
Popular ebooks and audiobooks for a variety of devices. Use your UNE PRN number as your library card to log in. State of Maine funded.
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Reports of controlled trials from MEDLINE, Embase and other databases, trial registers, and hand searches of journals.
Cochrane Clinical Answers
A physician-focused resource for clinical questions.
Cochrane Collection Plus
Searches across the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Leading database and journal of systematic reviews and protocols in health care.
Communications and Mass Media: Gale OneFile
Information on advertising, public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, journalism and more. State of Maine funded.
Computer Science: Gale OneFile
Product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
ConsumerLab.com
Information for consumers on health and nutrition products including vitamins, herbal products, functional foods, and more.
Contemporary Women’s Issues
Newsletters, NGO research reports, and ephemeral literature from research institutes and grass roots organizations on critical issues and events that influence women’s lives.
Coronavirus Research Database
Health and medical research database related to COVID-19.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Videos on counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric practice.
Credo Reference
Authoritative, citable background information from subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, handbooks, videos and images.
Culinary Arts: Gale OneFile
Major cooking and nutrition books and magazines.
CultureGrams World Edition
Concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world.
Dental Education in Video
Videos of dentistry and dental techniques from clinicians and educators together with interviews and lectures.
Dentistry & Oral Science Source
Dental and oral sciences journals covering dental public health, endodontics, odontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology and more.
Digital Maine Library
Free online access for Maine residents to scholarly databases, newspapers, magazines, journals, and reference books.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Published dissertations and theses from around the world. Many are available in PDF format, and most include free twenty-four page previews.
Diversity Studies: Gale OneFile
Explores cultural differences and the contributions and influences of diverse populations in the global community. State of Maine funded.
DUNE: DigitalUNE
UNE’s open access institutional repository. Archives and provides access to the scholarly and creative works and unique resources produced at UNE, including student and faculty theses, articles, journals, posters, and presentations.
DynaMed
Evidence-based decision tool for point-of-care use. Mobile app instructions.
DynaMedex
Combines the clinical expertise and extensive, curated disease content of DynaMed with the comprehensive view into treatment options, depth and breadth of drug information, and advanced search capabilities of Micromedex.
EconLit
Information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations and more. State of Maine funded.
Education Database
Journals, dissertations and supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
Educator’s Reference Complete
Information for all levels of education and educational specialty, including technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing, as well as issues in administration, funding, and policy. State of Maine funded.
Embase
Up-to-date biomedical and pharmacological information on medical and drug-related subjects. Video tutorials.
Embodied Labs
Immersive virtual reality labs giving users first-person experience of aging individuals with unique diagnoses and perspectives. Login requires UNE email account.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source
The latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business.
Entrepreneurship: Gale Business
Articles and other resources on economic development, business planning, finance, marketing, market research, and management. State of Maine funded.
Environment Complete
Information on agriculture, ecology, energy, natural resources, and other environmental topics. State of Maine funded.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Ebsco access to education research and information from the U.S. Department of Education.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Evidence Analysis Library (EAL)
A synthesis of nutritional research on important dietetic practice questions.
Exam Master
Create an individual account using your UNE email address to access practice exams for the USMLE, PANCE, NAPLEX, NBDE, NCLEX, board certification exams, and review medical subjects.
Fine Arts: Gale OneFile
Information on drama, music, art history, and filmmaking, including the Wilson Art Index. State of Maine funded.
FSTA – Food Science & Technology Abstracts
Resources on food sciences, pet foods, food psychology, food economics, food safety and more. State of Maine funded.
Gale Books and Authors
Find books to match your interests. Covers all genres and reading levels. State of Maine funded.
Global Issues: Gale In Context
Global perspectives on international relations and current world events.
Global Newsstream
US and international newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in multiple languages from 1980 to present.
Google Scholar
Google search of scholarly literature. Can be set up to recognize your UNE access.
GreenFILE
Information on environmental concerns such as climate change, energy conservation, natural resources, and pollution.
Health & Medical Collection
Healthcare journals and clinical research titles, instructional videos, dissertations and working papers.
Health and Medicine: Gale OneFile
Nursing and allied health journals, reference content, pamphlets and videos. State of Maine funded.
Healthcare Administration Database
Information on public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
HeinOnline
U.S. government publications and reports back to 1754 as well as treaties, constitutions, case law, classic treatises, international trade, and foreign relations.
Historic Journals & Osteopathic Books
Osteopathic journals and books curated by the Museum of Osteopathic Medicine at A.T. Still University,
Historical Newspapers: ProQuest
Archive of The New York Times: 1851-2007, The Washington Post: 1877-1994, Guardian and Observer: 1791-2003, Hartford Courant: 1764-1985, and New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993.
Humanities Source
Scholarly journal articles covering literary, scholarly and creative thought.
ICE Learning Center
Videos of real patients and therapists in clinical settings for students and faculty of physical and occupational therapy. Starting guide video. Enter your @une.edu email address when prompted after login.
Journal Citation Reports
Critically evaluate the world’s leading journals with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data.
JSTOR
Back issues of core scholarly journals as well as books and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, & sciences.
Kanopy
Films, documentaries, and training videos from PBS, Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, HBO, BBC and more.
LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
Information on drugs and chemicals affecting nursing mothers and infants.
Leadership and Management: Gale OneFile
Professional and career development resources on organizational dynamics, leadership, and continuing education. State of Maine funded.
LearningExpress Library
Prepare for college and graduate school admissions and certification and licensing exams with practice tests, tutorials, books, and more. State of Maine funded.
Legal Information Source
Top consumer legal reference books, publications and legal forms.
LegalTrac
Law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, bar association and international law journals.
Lexidrug
Lexicomp is now UpToDate Lexidrug. Point-of-care drug information used in many hospitals; integrates with UpToDate. Training videos.
Lexidrug for Dentistry
Lexicomp for Dentistry is now UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry. Current and accurate point-of-care information across clinical knowledge areas in dentistry.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA)
Library and information science journals, books, research reports and more.
Literary Reference Plus
Information from reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
Literature Resource Center: Gale
Literature research resources on authors and criticism. State of Maine funded.
LWW Health Library Medical Education
Medicine and health sciences textbooks and multimedia resources from publisher Lippincott. Includes the Osteopathic Medicine Collection.
Maine News
Maine newspapers including the Bangor Daily News and Portland Press Herald, plus selected coverage of other regional sources. State of Maine funded.
Maine News Index
Abstracts and citations from Portland and Maine newspapers and magazines including Down East, MaineBiz, Portland Monthly, and the Portland Phoenix. Compiled by Portland Public Library Portland Room staff.
Mango Languages
Online language learning software for Spanish and French.
MEDLINE
Authoritative medical information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
Merriam-Webster’s Medical Desk Dictionary
Today’s most widely used health-care terms, abbreviations, medication names, and biographies of medical pioneers
Merriam-Webster’s Online
Merriam-Webster’s Unabridged Dictionary, Law Dictionary, Medical Dictionary, Thesaurus, Language Translation tools and more. State of Maine funded.
Micromedex
Evidence-based clinical reference for management of medications, diseases, and toxicology, plus lab test and patient education information. Mobile app instructions.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Detailed information on journals including editorial contact information, frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
MLA International Bibliography
Literature, language, linguistics, and folklore records from the Modern Language Association.
NAL SEARCH
National Agricultural Library database of agriculture, forestry, and animal science research, formerly AGRICOLA.
NatMed Pro
Evidence-based resource on natural medicines, dietary supplements, and complementary and integrative therapies. Formerly Natural Medicines.
News: Gale OneFile
International and U.S. newspapers as well as images, and radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. State of Maine funded.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis® including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Nexis Uni tutorials.
North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
Archive of Canadian and American women’s published and unpublished diaries and correspondence from Colonial times through 1950.
NoveList K-8 Plus
Popular reading database of fiction and non-fiction book recommendations for K – 8 readers, as well as reading lists and curriculum-driven material for educators. State of Maine funded.
NoveList Plus
Popular reading database of fiction and non-fiction book recommendations for high school through adult readers. State of Maine funded.
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials and evidence-based resources for students in nursing and allied health professions.
Nutrition Care Manual
Evidence-based nutrition educational materials, clinical nutrition resources and customizable diet manual.
Oceanic Abstracts
Technical literature on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, meteorology and geology, plus environmental and legislative topics. State of Maine funded.
OpenDissertations
Key dissertations and theses from American universities 1902 to present. Links to full-text when available through institutional repositories.
Opposing Viewpoints: Gale In Context
Multiple perspectives on current events and social issues from topic overviews, articles, primary source documents, court cases and more. State of Maine funded.
OSTMED.DR
Osteopathic medical digital repository with current literature and historical documents.
OTseeker
Abstracts of systematic reviews, randomized controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.
PDR (Prescribers’ Digital Reference)
FDA approved drug information including interactions, side effects, recommended dosages, contraindications, and more. Free site, but you must register to use it.
PEDRO (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Search randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy
PharmacyLibrary
Textbooks, interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, abstracts and news sources from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine: Gale OneFile
Treatment techniques and research from academic journals and magazines in physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. State of Maine funded.
Poetry and Short Story Reference Source
e-book titles covering a broad range of poetry-related subjects.
Points of View Reference Source
Essays that present multiple sides of a current issue with questions and materials for further thought and study.
Project Muse
Humanities and social sciences books and articles from university presses and scholarly societies.
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly and trade articles, news sources, magazines and more covering all major academic subject areas.
PsycArticles
Peer-reviewed scholarly articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and affiliated journals.
PsychiatryOnline
Psychiatric resources from American Psychiatric Publishing including the DSM-5® and The American Journal of Psychiatry.
Psychotherapy.net Video Library
Training videos featuring leading practitioners in psychotherapy.
PsycInfo
Peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health from journals, books, dissertations, and reports. From the American Psychological Association (APA).
PsycTests
Psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to research in the behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association.
PubChem
National Library of Medicine database of chemical information.
Public Health Database
Core literature public health, including biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, and behavioral sciences.
PubMed (MEDLINE)
PubMed search of MEDLINE, the US National Library of Medicine database of biomedical literature. Tutorials. Mobile app instructions.
PubMed Central (PMC)
Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). PMC FAQs. MEDLINE, PubMed, and PubMed Central (PMC) – how are they different?
Regional Business News
Local business news by state and Canadian province.
Religion and Philosophy: Gale OneFile
Magazines and academic journals covering religion and the related areas of philosophy and anthropology. State of Maine funded.
Science: Gale In Context
Topic overviews, biographies, articles and detailed experiments covering all major science topics. State of Maine funded.
ScienceDirect
Scientific, technical, and medical research from scholarly journal publisher Elsevier.
SciFinderⁿ
References, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. First time users, please create a free account here. SciFinder Training.
SciVal
Research performance data and visualization tools from academic institutions worldwide.
Scopus
Citations and abstracts from scholarly research journals across the sciences. Advanced tools for citation analysis and journal ranking. Video tutorials.
Small Business Source
Resources for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, including articles and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books.
Social Work Abstracts
Journals covering all areas of social work, from the National Association of Social Workers, Inc. Video tutorial.
SocINDEX
Research journals and other publications in sociology and related disciplines.
SPORTDiscus
Articles from sports and sports medicine journals, including exercise physiology, coaching, and training and conditioning.
Statista
Global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights.
Stedman’s Online
The most complete resource of medical terms, definitions, abbreviations and symbols.
Symptom Media
Videos which portray mental health issues and diagnoses in educational and treatment settings, with assessment tools guided by the DSM 5 and ICD 10 .
TOXLINE
Citations and abstracts from toxicology journals, papers, books, reports and more.
Trip Medical Database
Clinical search engine of high-quality research evidence.
U.S. History: Gale In Context
Primary and secondary U.S. history sources from publishers Macmillan, Scribner and others. State of Maine funded.
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Detailed information on journals and magazines published throughout the world.
UpToDate
Evidence-based, synthesized medical information for point-of-care decision-making. UpToDate training videos. Mobile app instructions. Requires creation and use of a free, personal account in addition to the initial UNE login. Users must login at least every 90 days from the above link to retain access.
Visible Body Suite
Detailed, Interactive 3D atlas of the human body. Requires a free account. Be patient – can take up to 30 seconds to load the first time you access. Users must login at least every 150 days from the above link to retain access. Tutorial. Mobile app instructions.
Web of Science
Zoological literature from professional journals, magazines, newsletters, books and more.
WorldCat
Search the collections of the world’s libraries. Limit by location to find holdings near you.